Tech Im ditching my smartphone

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Pinky The Blue Flamingo, Aug 19, 2018.

1. Pinky The Blue Flamingo

Pinky The Blue Flamingo Too old for this shit
    Staff Advisory Editor-in-Chief Gold Founder

If you know me at all, you know I'm a huge tech junkie, I've had smartphones since 2009 and they are a ubiquitous aspect in most of our lives. I use my phone more than my computer for just about everything. It's amazingly useful.
    These days though I feel like I've gotten away from the idea of a phone being a tool and more of lifestyle. Like smokers without a light, I find myself getting jittery, irritable, and excessively anxious at the mere thought of not having my phone in my hand. Its the first thing I look at in the morning, and the last thing I see before I go to bed, and who knows how often I check it during the day, there's an app to track that but I'm kinda scared to see the data to be quite honest.
    The frustrating part is that I can't just put the device down and stop reading my feeds. It's a compulsive act at this point that feels more like an addiction then general curiosity for what I'm looking up. I've tried uninstalling apps, and that worked for a while, but I can still access everything from the built-in browser. I even tried parental controls for a while, but that was a total loss. I figured out how to disable the app on my end pretty quickly.

So as things are now, I just want a break, without any opportunity for temptation. So I'm going to be shoving my S8+ in a locked safe and picking up an old QWERTY slider phone. I'm sure locking it up sounds like overkill, but I know myself, I'd just pull it out of a drawer.
    I should have the "new" phone by the end of the week, hopefully, my experiment goes well. Looking forward to being less distracted once the initial withdrawal period ends.

Anyone else ever thought about ditching a smartphone? What were your reasons?

2. Shannon Apple