Personal What are you collecting and why?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Pinky The Blue Flamingo, Aug 12, 2018.

1. Pinky The Blue Flamingo

Pinky The Blue Flamingo Too old for this shit
    Staff Advisory Editor-in-Chief Gold Founder

just like it says in the title. Whats your "shiney trinket"? What do you have to have if you see the perfect addition to your collection.

For me its retro game systems, Ive got portables and consoles but I talk about them enough in the gaming forum.

What Ive recently become enamored with are sapphires, Ive been collecting them for about 8 months now and Ive amassed a small number of unique stones.

Generally when people think of sapphires, they imagine a deep blue stone, but sapphires can come in any color except red, since the red ones are rubies, but the cut off point between sapphire and ruby is hotly debated.

anyway, these are my stones, Id like to get a nice display case at some point, but this will do for now.

[​IMG]

All but two of these stones are under a half carat, or 50points, and arent particularly valuable, not because of the size though, but because of their color. Browns and blue-green stones just dont sell, and they are often heat treated to get more desireable colors.

bit thats the industry's loss, because my cognac sapphire has some beautiful peachy coral undertones that just make it pop. Sadly photos dont do it justice at all.
    [​IMG]
    Im planning to have it set in rosegold one day, but thats a ways off.

This whole thing started when I won a green stone in an auction and ive been kind of obsessed with them eversince lol
    [​IMG]

Im really hoping I can get a large blue/teal/yellow parti sapphire one day, the ones coming out of Australia are stunning.

What cool thing do you collect?

#1 Pinky The Blue Flamingo, Aug 12, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2018
  2. Struggler

Struggler Sentient Meat
    Platinum Founder